Notifications
Clear all

Kenneth Grant in Weird Fiction Journal  

  RSS

einDoppelganger
(@eindoppelganger)
Member
Joined: 12 years ago
Posts: 915
28/11/2010 11:07 pm  

I want to recommend the journal Wormwood to anyone on the forum with an interest in weird or decadent fiction. Paul posted this in a news item back in 2008 but it bears repeating.

Issue 10 has an article by Dave Evans on the Occult Fiction of Kenneth Grant. The article was written before Dr Evans was informed of his error regarding the bibliographic references regarding "Ku" in Hecate's Fountain so this bit of erroneous information is repeated here. This does not however diminish the value of the survey or Dr Evans as a researcher.

Dr Evans clearly has a respect and affection for the strange fiction of Kenneth Grant. He considers the novellas within the context of Grant's own corpus of work as they inform and expand on his trilogies. Dr Evans has some very positive things to say about the work from a purely literary perspective as well. The article also looks at the books as examples of "weird fiction" in the tradition of Machen and Lovecraft.

This particular issue is also of interest for its inclusion of a survey of Fritz Leiber.

Leiber was a writer of strange occult fiction who is today better known for his fantasy novels. Leiber is credited with creating his own genre of industrial gothic fiction. He was a resident of San Francisco and part of the same circle as Anton Lavey and Kenneth Anger.

http://freepages.pavilion.net/tartarus/wormwood.htm

I will be buying the entire back catalog as soon as I am financially able. If the quality of articles is anything like the ones I have read in this issue it will be a good investment!

S


Quote
christibrany
(@christibrany)
Yuggothian
Joined: 11 years ago
Posts: 2382
28/11/2010 11:33 pm  

do you know if they have fiction in those issues too? Fritz lieber writes good stories. Id like to read an issue whenever i get money 🙂


ReplyQuote
einDoppelganger
(@eindoppelganger)
Member
Joined: 12 years ago
Posts: 915
28/11/2010 11:51 pm  

no, its all commentary and criticism. If you like Lieber I venture you will find new authors in a similar vein in the pages of Wormwood. I learned about two new authors who I will be seeking out shortly. Part of the mission of the magazine is to expose readers to lesser known writers in the genre.

I was in a bookstore today in Providence , RI that did have an old copy of
The Disciples of Cthulhu which contained the story The Terror from the Depths, by Fritz Leiber. It can be had for dollars on Amazon used.

I also came across some Robert Chambers who's King in Yellow I imagine would be of interest to many of those who read Grant's work.

S


ReplyQuote
alysa
(@alysa)
Member
Joined: 12 years ago
Posts: 655
29/11/2010 12:26 am  

Thanks for the recommendation, einDoppelganger, I am interested in the works of Kenneth Grant, I recently became also interested in the field of Fantasy and Science Fiction, thanks to my interest in Lord Byron, I learned to know the author John Crowley, who is an awarded author of Fantasy and Science Fiction, should the Journal be interested in him as well? Fritz Leiber, I never knew about him but I will check him out, Robert Chambers "The King in Yellow" is also available through Wordsworth Editions.


ReplyQuote
 Anonymous
Joined: 50 years ago
Posts: 0
30/11/2010 3:47 am  

I see that issue #11 has an article on A.O.S. entitled "Austin Osman Spare: English Satyr, Magus-Artist and Astral Visionary by Adam Daly"

Thanks for reminding me of this wonderful magazine, Scott....I shall have to pick up a few issues!


ReplyQuote
 Anonymous
Joined: 50 years ago
Posts: 0
23/12/2010 8:46 am  

I am not interested in lavey. To be honest - I don't like him. I see that I have a lot to buy during my learning process..


ReplyQuote
einDoppelganger
(@eindoppelganger)
Member
Joined: 12 years ago
Posts: 915
23/12/2010 9:01 am  

Lavey can be amusing but I think you need to have a strong appreciation of American kitsch culture and carny / grifter morality to really "get" him. I find him most interesting as an early curator of fringe and forgotten culture. To my mind he has a lot in common with "outsider" filmmaker John Waters - another very different kind of magus.

See the old film Satanis for a really charming look at the original Church of Satan crowd. They seemed downright wholesome in their playboy haunted mansion sensibilities. Really a special time which has most definitely passed.

In any case I mentioned him in relation to Leiber because he was apparently at a lot of the same parties. I don't suppose they were too connected beyond being active in the fantasy literary / occult / artistic circles of 1960s San Francisco.

S


ReplyQuote
 Anonymous
Joined: 50 years ago
Posts: 0
23/12/2010 9:37 am  

Yes of course I completely understand you Mr. einDoppelganger. I just have different point of view on the whole LHP ideologies. 🙂 Like someone said - he was a popstar of Satanism 😉

93


ReplyQuote
JNSmith
(@jnsmith)
Member
Joined: 12 years ago
Posts: 33
24/12/2010 2:13 pm  

I am not aware they are connected other than by location, but in Liebers (excellent) novel "Our Lady Of Darkness" he seems to refer to a lot of the S.F. occult scene. Or maybe I am projecting...
Seasonal salutations!
J


ReplyQuote
einDoppelganger
(@eindoppelganger)
Member
Joined: 12 years ago
Posts: 915
24/12/2010 6:29 pm  

Yeah, I bet San Francisco in the 1960s was a blast even outside of the Haight, The connection between Lieber and Lavey seems to be through Forrest J Ackerman (L Ron Hubbard's old literary agent and publisher of Famous Monsters of Filmland). "Forry" served as a central connection point for all manner of unique folks and definitely knew all three (Lavey. Lieber, and Anger).

As for Lieber, I really enjoy the stories of his I have read so far. What a fantastic "urban - gothic" style! I can't wait to read "Conjure Wife" and "Our Lady Of Darkness"


ReplyQuote
 Anonymous
Joined: 50 years ago
Posts: 0
24/12/2010 8:46 pm  
"einDoppelganger" wrote:
Yeah, I bet San Francisco in the 1960s was a blast even outside of the Haight.

It was, indeed. I had a place there, outside of the Haight, for a time in the sixties. Not only a blast but very productive times for me.


ReplyQuote
einDoppelganger
(@eindoppelganger)
Member
Joined: 12 years ago
Posts: 915
24/12/2010 9:00 pm  

Cam, I'd love to read a book by you, man. You must have some great stories from those halcyon days of the LA and SF occult scene. 🙂

Scott


ReplyQuote
Share: