Home Forums Aleister Crowley Biography Could Crowley speak any foreign languages?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 17 total)
  • Author

dom
    Participant

Could Crowley speak any foreign languages?

ignant666
    Participant

Other than being fluent in Latin, Greek, French, Russian, German, Spanish, and Italian, and a working knowledge of Enochian, Arabic, Hebrew, Chinese, and Hindi, no.

William Thirteen
    Participant

Crowley was not fluent in German but had a basic comprehension of the language.

In my adolescence I studied German with some thoroughness. I could read most classical authors and books on such subjects as philosophy, chemistry, alpinism and chess. But I could only make out newspapers with a good deal of aid from the dictionary and though I could converse fluently on simple subjects with casual strangers, I could never call myself a German scholar.

I had little occasion for the language since 1902 and forgot much of what I knew. In 1925, I could understand German only when spoken clearly and slowly with special consideration for the state of my knowledge and an occasional recourse to paraphrase. I could, however, follow the merits of German composition especially in the case of translations of my own work where I already knew the meaning.

dom
    Participant

Other than being fluent in Latin, Greek, French, Russian, German, Spanish, and Italian, and a working knowledge of Enochian, Arabic, Hebrew, Chinese, and Hindi

Fluent in these languages?

• This reply was modified 1 week, 5 days ago by  dom.
    • This reply was modified 1 week, 5 days ago by  dom.

Shiva
    Participant

D: Fluent in these languages?

That’s exactly what Ig wrote. Say, you’re not hard of reading, are you?

ignant666
    Participant